Free Your Mind

In 1992, En Vogue came out with a song called, “Free Your Mind.”  I remember the entire song, but I love the line that says, “Free your mind, and the rest will follow.”  (and yes, I’m singing while I type).  The song was about prejudice, and was a bit radical for its time.  It is still a song I really enjoy.  But, contrary to what you’re thinking, I use it not to talk about prejudice or discrimination.  Rather, to talk about freedom in your mind in the truest sense.

As I’ve been sharing over the past few weeks, I recently made some decisions to cut back on things in order to ensure I was “handling business,” so to speak.  Last week, I found myself in an interesting situation.  One of the decisions I made was to step out of a particular role.  The reason for this was that, frankly, the commitment required of me was more than I am able to do at this time, and particularly the time commitment.  So last week, I made a decision not to attend an event.  Seems minor, except it was an event that, prior to stepping out of the role, I would have attended.  I literally second guessed myself for about an hour and a half.  Then I “came to myself,” and said, “Rasheeda, you made a decision not to do this role anymore.  You cannot make yourself feel guilty for then choosing to walk that out.”  My pep talk concluded with one simple statement (yes, out loud):  “Be confident in your decisions and walk in them.”

How often do we find ourselves tormented by the thoughts in our mind?  We are our own greatest critics.  I can literally play out a scenario in my mind that is just as off and wrong as could be.  In my mind, I can envision a dialogue with someone that can go really right or really wrong.  And it is all in my mind, because nothing has manifested in the natural yet.  How important is the mind?  It is the most critical part.

In your mind is where the battle is, because in your mind is where you begin to develop your perception.  And perception is, for many, reality.  Your reality is different from mine, because you view it through a different lens.  We may see the same things, but your experiences and lessons interpret what you see in your mind, and you are left with what is your reality.  What you imagine in your mind becomes reality, and that reality can lead to guilt, frustration, anger, bitterness and so many other things.

We all hold on to ideas, frustrations, etc.  Some may be past hurts and hang ups that we just can’t let go; that pop up in our minds at the most random times.  But the Word tells us to “. .. demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and … take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  (2 Corinthians 10:5, TNIV)  We are also told, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind…” (Romans 12:2, TNIV)

What are you holding on to today?  What are you condemning yourself for, feeling guilty about?  Take a moment to free your mind, and, if necessary, forgive yourself so that you can walk in the freedom God has intended for you this day.  The mind is a powerful thing, and when it is in bondage, you are in bondage.  But when you are free, all things become possible and your thoughts become life-giving instead of life hindering.

2 thoughts on “Free Your Mind

  1. Mom says:

    Wow! What a powerful expression of the power of the mind and the warfare that goes on there. Yes, you’re right: that’s where our greatest bondage or freedom is. Beautifully written and here lately, I so identify with the description of those experiences.

    Love you much! Keep using the gift He has blessed you with!

    Mom
    P.S.
    I sent an email with the same comments. Put it here just in case you don’t get it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

